Skip to content

locals wherever we go

May 21, 2008
by

Al Dente Pasta

Featured at the Ann Arbor 4th Avenue People’s Food Co-op for their Annual Meeting

Al Dente Pasta, Al Dente Whole Wheat Pasta, Michigan Made Pasta
As Dennis and I travel the country, we always feel like we’re locals wherever we go. But in Michigan, especially Ann Arbor, we are true locals. Lately, whenever I have a free weekend, I’ve been going to stores in our area, sampling Al Dente Pasta and Monique’s Sauces. It has been especially fun to turn people on to our new Whole Wheat Pastas with Flax. In the past months I’ve been to Plum Market, Colasante’s, People’s Food Co-Op and Whole Foods. On May 24th I’ll be at the new Hillers which opened in Union Lake. On May 31st, come visit me at The Produce Station, on June 7th at Papa Joe’s in Birmingham and on July 15th at Busch’s Farmington store. People are always asking me why I, the owner of the company, am still the one out doing the demos. I know it may seem strange, but I really love having the chance to connect with our customers. It always makes me feel good, so I guess that explains why I do it.

Al Dente Pasta with Roasted Vegetables

al dente whole wheat pasta with roasted vegetables

Recipe

1 head of cauliflower, cut into bite size flowerettes

1 bunch asparagus, tough part of stems snapped off

2 sweet red peppers, cut into chunks

1/2 cup olive oil

coarse kosher salt

Parmesan Cheese

1 bag Al Dente Whole Wheat Fettuccine

Preheat oven to 450. Lightly oil rimmed baking sheets. Place vegetables in a single layer on baking sheets. Lightly toss vegetables with oil and sprinkle generously with coarse salt. Bake until tender. Cut asparagus into 1 inch pieces. In the meantime, cook pasta in a large pot of boiling water. Drain and toss with vegetables. Garnish with chopped fresh parsley and Parmesan Cheese. Serve hot or at room temperature.

Another nice touch is to garnish with toasted almonds or pinenuts.



2 Comments leave one →
  1. hebibaby permalink
    May 23, 2008 2:09 pm

    I saw you enjoying to connect with your customers at Whole Foods on the other day.
    I think no one can demo better than you do.
    My 20mo.old daughter loves your fiesta pasta and marinara sauce. My friend`s daughter who is 8 years, a big fan of your past can eat a whole bag by herself!

    • Monique permalink*
      December 3, 2009 4:03 pm

      I love doing demoes because it give me the opportunity to connect with people and that is what gives me the greatest joy in life. I hope that your daughter and your friend’s daughter will keep eating Al Dente Pasta, forever!

Leave a Reply

