Skip to content

al dente pasta-it’s kosher!

April 6, 2009
annabel's noodle kugel

annabel's noodle kugel

Noodle Kugel, one of the world’s great dishes.   I’m not Jewish, but when spring time rolls around and people from all backgrounds begin celebrating according to their individual traditions, the “American” comes out in me.  Here’s what I mean.  In my opinion, the best part of being an American is that we have the luxury and opportunity to be surrounded and influenced by every culture in the world.  We can choose to keep an open heart and open mind.  We can pull from all cuisines of the world.  I certainly did when I started Al Dente Pasta Company and continue to do it every day when I decide what to make for dinner.  Of course, it helps that pasta is one of the most multi-cultural foods, enjoyed by people all over the globe.

sandy ryder-making people happy

sandy ryder-making people happy

All of my Jewish friends seem to agree that Al Dente Egg Fettuccine is the pasta of choice for their Noodle Kugels. Zingerman’s Deli has always used it.  Annabel Cohen uses it.  This year, I will be making Sandy Ryder’s Noodle Kugel.  Sandy and I share 30 years of history beginning in the days  when I was making pasta and she was making cheesecakes for Say Cheese, the company she started. While making cheesecakes, she was also delighting audiences as one of the founders  of Wild Swan Theater Company.  Then, for 10 years I had the honor of being President of the Wild Swan Theater Board of Directors.  I love Sandy, I love Wild Swan and I am 100% certain that I will love her Noodle Kugel.

Sandy says, ” it’s so easy and super yummy!
You mix the ingredients in a big bowl in the order of the recipe.”

The Best Kugel

12 oz. bag of Al Dente Egg Fettuccine (cooked for 3 minutes and drained)
1/2 pound of unsalted butter
1 pound of farmers cheese
1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla
1 cup of sugar
1 cup of sour cream
1/2 cup of raisins (golden look pretty, and I soak them in some hot water
for about 5 minutes before I add them)
6 eggs
1/2 teaspoon of salt

Mix as you go…. and at the end, pour it into a 9X13 pan- sprinkle brown
sugar on the top (about 1/4 cup or so) and bake at 350 degrees for an hour.
It can be served warm, or room temperature- I have added sliced apples
before also and that’s very good too!

al dente egg fettuccine

al dente egg fettuccine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

