Skip to content

monique celebrates national pasta month

October 8, 2009
Here's to National Pasta Month

Here's to pasta for all photo by Jim Kruz

National Pasta Month is big news this year. Michael Chiarella, Martha Stewart and others getting lots of press and attention. But wait a minute. I’ve dedicated more than half of my life to pasta, so decided that I better celebrate this month in a more formal and public way. It is kind of a test. People are always asking me whether I still eat pasta after 28 years in the business or whether I ever get tired of pasta. I always respond with an emphatic, “absolutely not, I love pasta, I will always love pasta, and I will never tire of eating pasta.”

Beginning today, I will “eat my words”. I will be preparing Al Dente® Pasta every day for the rest of the month.  And, I will be eating pasta every day for the rest of the month. And, I will be sharing the recipe every day for the rest of the month. Every single day! On the Al Dente® Pasta Facebook.

Sometimes I will be feeding only myself, others times I may feed 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 people. It will depend on the occasion. Sometimes I will have planned out the recipe and other times I will be creating from what is in my fridge. Rest assured, however, that the recipes will always be super simple, super delicious and super quick. That’s the way Al Dente® Pasta always is!

By the way…….pretty pasta please join me in celebrating National Pasta Month, too.  Make a dish, snap a picture and share the recipe with others on the Al Dente® Pasta Facebook. If you include a bag of pasta in the photo, you get extra points and have a better chance of eventually landing in pasta heaven.

Egg Linguine with Mushrooms, Sundried Tomatoes and Walnuts

serves 3 adults, generously

Simple, Affordable Ingredients

Simple, Affordable Ingredients

1/2 bag (6 oz.) Al Dente® Egg Linguine

2 Tbsp. olive oil

10 oz. mushrooms, sliced

1/4 cup slivered sundried tomatoes, in oil

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/3 cup toasted walnuts

1/3 cup grated Parmesan

fresh basil or parsley

salt and pepper to taste

takes only about 5 minutes to make

takes only about 5 minutes to make

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. In the meantime, saute the mushrooms in the 2 Tbsp. olive oil until softened. Add cream. Bring to a gentle boil then reduce heat. Add sundried tomatoes. Turn off heat while you cook your pasta for just 3 minutes. Drain.  Toss pasta in skillet with sauce, adding Parmesan, walnuts and fresh basil or parsley.  Salt and pepper to taste.

another beautiful dish of al dente pasta!

another beautiful dish of al dente® pasta!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

